Home News Otunba Gbenga Daniel and Others Bag Sports Award

Otunba Gbenga Daniel and Others Bag Sports Award

The former Governor of Ogun State, Otunba Gbenga Daniel was honoured as Pillar of Sports in the State. This award was said to be as a result of his superlative performances in lifting sports to world level when he was the Governor of the State.

The award was the initiative of the Egba Youth Football Championship. This idea was conceived with a vision to give the community boys a healthy and fairly competitive environment to help them grow in sports, especially football.

Other awardees include: Lafarge Africa Plc (Award of Excellence on Sports Promotion), Bukola Olopade (Man of the Year Award,Engr Olanrewaju Edun (Distinguished Leadership Award).Dr  Kehinde Ololade( Special Recognition Award), Professor Adewale Musa-Olomu( Pillar of the Community Sports Award) and Chief Toyin Amuzu (Special Community Contributor Award)

The award plague presented to the former governor reads, ‘Pillar of Sports Award presented to His Excellency, Otunba Justus Olugbenga Daniel in recognition of your unprecedented transformation you did to sports in Ogun State and Egbaland in particular when you held sway as the Governor of Ogun State records that  remains unbroken till date’

In his welcome address at the ceremony which equally marked 3rd Draw Ceremony for the annual community football championship, the leader of the project, Olalekan Shoyinka expressed appreciation to all those who believe in the project.

‘I strongly believe that sports play a crucial role in securing our communities. Therefore, with the EYFC, we are committed to providing a competitive platform for our community youths where they all can imbibe good values, learn and make new friends, thereby curbing the societal menace in our communities. I am extremely glad at the fact that the planning committee members as well as our supporters are leaving no stone unturned in working towards this direction’.

‘Today, we have gathered here not just to celebrate the achievements of our Awardees, but also to give due regard to our values and morals which these awardees exemplify, like discipline, compassion and zeal for the progress of Egbaland’.

‘We believe you will see this award as a call to service to support what we are doing for our community boys. Soon, you will be learning about the different initiatives through our planned activities and special events where you will be able to join in and get hands on experiences. I hope these will help you see the need to keep on supporting us’.

‘To all of us, it’s important however to appeal to us all that we still need your support in the areas of material for a successful competition. We believe we can still do more than we have planned to do for the winners of this competition.

The list also include: Dr Dimeji Oganla (Distinguished Pillar of the Community Award),Comrade Desmond Nwachukwu (Leadership Impact Award),Ayobami Adelani(Ace of Initiative Award),Alhaji Monsuru Raji (Distinguished Contributor Award),Engr. Olasunkanmi Odunaiya (EYFC Essential Award) and Mr. Abiodun Folorunso.

Source: Penpushing

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here